JOHANNESBURG – Rain levels have been low this year, leading to drought and water scarcity across the country.

So far five out of the nine provinces have been declared disaster areas – Free State, KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Limpopo and the North West.

This map details the affected areas. Click on the icons on the map or on the side panel to learn about what’s happening in different parts of the country.